Commencement programs

New candidates in research degrees at Macquarie University must complete a mandatory Commencement Program in their first year of study. The program has several components:

Central Commencement Program (CCP)

The Central Commencement Program (CCP) is a one-day event providing an introduction to the University, to research practice, and to the support mechanisms available to research candidates university-wide. It may also be completed online.

Faculty Commencement Program (FCP)

The Faculty Commencement Program is a half-day event providing candidates with an introduction to the Faculty of Science and Engineering and faculty-specific information, such as resources (e.g. technical services, funding) OH&S requirements, and how to obtain animal and/or human ethics clearance for your research. It is also an excellent opportunity to meet key staff in the Faculty as well as other commencing research candidates. The FCP is pivotal to new candidates to integrate into the culture of research in the Faculty and their departments. FCP is held twice each year, in late February/early March and in late July/early August. Please contact the Faculty HDR team if you are unable to attend, for example due to late enrolment.

Departmental induction

Each department in the Faculty of Science and Engineering has its own induction program, to introduce you to research colleagues, department staff and resources, and information on departmental procedures that will assist you in your research.

Please contact the below mentioned staff on their extension numbers to make an arrangement to discuss.

Faculty of Science and Engineering Departmental Directors, HDR

Department Departmental Director, HDR Extension Number Email
Biological Sciences A/Prof Culum Brown ex 6292 culum.brown@mq.edu.au
Chemical & Biomolecular Sciences Prof Paul Haynes ex 6258 paul.haynes@mq.edu.au
Chiropractic Dr Roger Engel ex 6387 roger.engel@mq.edu.au
Computing A/Prof Yan Wang ex 9539 yan.wang@mq.edu.au
Earth & Planetary Sciences A/Prof Dorrit Jacob ex 8428 dorrit.jacob@mq.edu.au
Engineering A/Prof Stuart Jackson
ex 9137 stuart.jackson@mq.edu.au
Environmental Sciences A/Prof Vladimir Strezov ex 6959 vladimir.strezov@mq.edu.au
Mathematics Prof Xuan Duong ex 8948 xuan.duong@mq.edu.au
Physics & Astronomy Prof Jason Twamley ex 8908 jason.twamley@mq.edu.au
Statistics A/Prof Jun Ma ex 8548 jun.ma@mq.edu.au

Faculty of Science and Engineering MRes Advisors

Department Departmental Director, HDR Extension Number Email
Biological Sciences A/Prof Grant Hose ex 6296 grant.hose@mq.edu.au
Chemical & Biomolecular Sciences A/Prof Louise Brown ex 8294 louise.brown@mq.edu.au
Chiropractic Dr Ben Brown ex 6383 ben.brown@mq.edu.au
Computing A/Prof Mark Dras ex 9580 mark.dras@mq.edu.au
Earth & Planetary Sciences A/Prof Simon Clark ex 8166 simon.clark@mq.edu.au
Engineering

A/Prof Sam Reisenfeld

Dr Sammy Diasinos

ex 6002

ex 9146

sam.reisenfeld@mq.edu.au

sammy.diasinos@mq.edu.au

Environmental Sciences

Dr Tim Ralph (Year 1)

Dr Maina Mbui (Year 2)

ex 6378
ex
tim.ralph@mq.edu.au
joseph.mbui
@mq.edu.au
Mathematics Dr Adam Sikora ex 8919 adam.sikora@mq.edu.au
Physics & Astronomy

A/Prof Gavin Brennen (Year 1)

Dr Joanne Dawson (Year 2)

ex 4445

ex8901

gavin.brennen@mq.edu.au

joanne.dawson@mq.edu.au

Statistics Dr Thomas Fung ex 4769 thomas.fung@mq.edu.au